I’m a Sinking Boat

Today’s (bonus) boot camp prompt is:

Sinking Ship 

You realize  the  boat  is sinking,  but that’s  not  the  worst thing  that  could  happen.  The  worst thing happened  last night.

My boat is sinking. I’m going down. Water is flooding the cabins, the hull, spilling onto the deck. The worst part of this whole mess? I started it. I’m the one who punched a hole below deck. I’m the one who broke the wood and let the water in.

This morning had started out beautiful. The sun was shining through my window and warming my face as I woke. He had been laying next to me. It had been peaceful. Sweet. Perfect. I had made the mistake of getting out of bed. Maybe if I had stayed in bed none of this would have happened.

As I walked into the kitchen to feed the cat, I rubbed the sleep from my eyes and stretched. I heard the bathroom door close and a few seconds later open. I heard the thump of his body on the bed. I heard the ding of my phone. That’s when it started.

“What the fuck?” His voice carried down the hallway followed by his pounding footsteps. “What the fuck is this?” He said shoving the phone in my face. I jerked my head back to see the screen better.

“I’ve been telling him no.” I said defensively as he pulled the screen away from me. That was the punch in the wood. That little lie.

“Obviously not! ‘I can’t wait to see you again‘. Again? Obviously you said yes at least once.”

“I met up with him once to try and get him to back off.” He shook his head and I saw his thumb moving across the screen.

“You lying bitch.” He said. I knew he had reached the other texts. The ones encouraging his best friend. The ones telling his childhood buddy that I found him sexy. It hadn’t been planned. I hadn’t planned to cheat. It had just happened.

Before I knew what was happening he was on the phone with his friend yelling and pacing up and down the hallway. I was shocked into paralysis. I stood in the kitchen with my hands on my head. After he had it out with his friend there were sounds from the bedroom and soon he walked out with a duffle bag in hand.

“No. Please.” I stood in front of him.

“Get out of my way.” Tears welled in my eyes.

“Please. I swear it’s over. I made a mistake. Please give me another chance.” He took a deep breath.

“I was raised to not hit a woman, but I’m not sure that rule applies to cheaters. Get out of my way.” I had no choice but to let him go. That was it. The boat was going down and taking me with it.

Now I sit in my living room wondering how I let it get so out of control.

2 thoughts on “I’m a Sinking Boat

Leave a Reply

