Dear Writer’s Block

Today’s boot camp prompt is:

Breaking up with Writer’s Block

It’s time  for you and  Writer’s  Block  to  part  ways. Write  a  letter  breaking  up with  Writer’s Block, starting  out with, “Dear Writer’s Block, it’s not you, it’s me …”

Dear Writer’s Block,

It’s not you. It’s me. I know that sounds cliche, but it’s the truth. You are the product of my own mind. You don’t have a choice on when you will show up, you just do. Even you don’t understand why you’re here, but I do now. After much thought and consideration, I now understand why you came into my life and also why you must leave. 

I get distracted easily. A single word will set off a chain reaction and cause me to stray from the text at hand. This is when you show up to completely block my way. You take advantage of those few seconds of my train lifting from the tracks and completely derail it. I know that you don’t mean to. I know you don’t mean to cause me to stare blankly at the screen. I watch the cursor blink, waiting for my next words which you have so carefully taken from me.

It’s time we put an end to this cycle. It’s time for us to part ways. We may see each other from time to time still and that’s ok, but I think we should try to keep our distance. You’ve unknowingly prevented my progress and it’s just healthier for me to leave this situation. Life is all about progression and I need to cut out those things that prevent my own.

Sincerely,

R.W. Franklin
P.S. I must also request that you do not visit my friends. My fellow writers may not have told you this yet, but they do not wish to see you either. Please keep this breakup amicable and don’t go barging into their lives to take it out on them.

Leave a Reply

