My First Submission

Well there it is. Confirmation of my first ever submission.

I submitted a short story about venturing outside my comfort zone and into public speaking. I hate public speaking! In the moments leading up to my presentation, I feel nauseated and light-headed. Chicken Soup for the Soul will potentially publish a book about going outside your comfort zone and so this was the perfect opportunity to dip my toes into the world of official paid publishing. 

I have very little hope my story will actually be picked, but it’s a small step toward the future. Either way, I have decided to look at rejections as a victory because I am trying and a rejection slip shows that at least someone outside my immediate family has read my work. 

I think I will celebrate today in some manner. I’ve never submitted my work anywhere but here so I feel I should celebrate this accomplishment. Maybe I’ll go out to a nice dinner with my husband. Maybe I’ll just chug the last of what liquor I have in my cabinet. Not sure yet what form my celebration will take. Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “My First Submission

  1. I’m the same way with public speaking, someone has to literally push my face into a mic to get me to do it haha. Wishing you all the best with your submission!

  2. Pingback: What Is My Blog? | An Attempt At Release

Leave a Reply

