I’m Asleep

I’m asleep.

Half dead to the world.

I walk and talk.

But go nowhere, say nothing.

I go through the motions.

I even pretend to care. I don’t.

They think this is my dream.

They think this is my path.

I’m merely taking a detour.

My path is far from here.
I do feel alive from time to time.

In the wee hours of the morning.

While the world is still dark.

While my world is silent.

When there is a white space in front of me.

When my fingers rest on the keys.

When my fingers grip my pen.

This is my path.

This is when I’m awake.
In a few minutes I’ll go back to sleep.

I’ll drift through the day.

I’ll take a class that doesn’t bring me any closer to my dream.

I’ll attend a webinar that doesn’t touch my soul.

But in 24 hours, when I sit here again.

That’s when I’ll be alive again.

Leave a Reply

