Failed Dinner

So my husband and I are on a low carb diet and we decided to try a substitute for grilled cheese.

Here’s the recipe.

I mean just look at how delicious they make this thing look!

Disclaimer: Don’t get all excited thinking these are my pictures. These definitely came from snapshots I took during the video. Mine were NOTHING like how beautiful these appear.

It looks like it holds together so well and you can eat it with nothing but your hands. My husband has been craving grilled cheese and so when I saw recipe I knew we needed to try it.

It was a miserable flop. I didn’t even take pictures because it was late, I was tired, and so embarrassed by how they turned out. Instead of firm “bread” slices, the slices fell apart / scattered across the pan when I tried to flip them. The flavor was good. Really good. But it was more like a cheesy cauliflower casserole than a sandwich. We ate our “sandwiches” with a spoon for Pete’s sake!

I think our first mistake was thinking we’d have to cook the cauliflower. Our second mistake was that we bought frozen cauliflower. Those may have been our only two mistakes, I’m not entirely sure. It looks like whoever made the video used uncooked, raw cauliflower. Now I’m thinking, duh! They probably used raw cauliflower because it’s firm and won’t have all the water in it that cooked or frozen cauliflower would have. Our cauliflower was pretty drenched in water after thawing it.

Neither my husband or I claim to be chefs, but we do OK. Last night was not one of those times where it actually turned out at least close to the picture. It was no where near how the picture/video looks. But, hey, it was a learning experience and I got a good laugh out of it.

Leave a Reply

