Stabbed in the Heart

Where did you go?

You vanished in the bright of day.

I couldn’t even tell you when the moment was you vanished.

You were here and then suddenly you were not.

What took you away?

Was it something I said?

Was it something I did?

I don’t remember any words that could have hurt.

I don’t remember any action that could have pushed you away.

You were my best friend.

I confided in you.

Why did you leave?

Not so much as a note to say you’d gone.

Not so much as a note to explain the distance between us.

You left so abruptly.

I didn’t even get to say good bye.

When did your heart turn so cold?

I thought you were different from those others.

I thought you would stay around.

I thought this would be the friendship to last years to come.

I was wrong.

Who have you become?

You’re not who I thought you were.

Loyalty is not in your veins as it is in mine.

Did our friendship mean so little to you?

I surely felt it meant more.

Leave a Reply

