A New (Also Repeated) Chapter

I completed my orientation class for my new online school yesterday. I’m so excited to be starting back up! I started going to school to earn my Associates a little over a year ago. Everything was moving along. My employer is investing in my future by paying 100% of my tuition… So long as I keep at least a B average. So far it hasn’t been a problem.

I say this is a new, but also repeated chapter because it’s a new school, but something I’ve already done before. Almost 6 months ago the college I was attending closed. What a mess and ball of stress that was! They essentially stole money from the government and their students, myself included. I won’t bore you with details, but basically they left me with student loans that had technically been paid. (It’s confusing to explain how that happened so I’m just going to leave it at that).

I went through 3 months of calling different resources to find out what my options were and what schools would potentially take my credits. Finding out I basically had no options unless I wanted to lose all my credits. What??? Over a year of school just vanishing…I don’t think so! So I’m biting the bullet and paying the loans so that I can keep my credits and not have to start all over. 

I spent the past month researching prospective schools to see what kind of reputations they have. It’s hard to know whether or not the college you choose will stay open. The school I had been going to had been a reputable college, but look how that ended up. I finally found a school that will transfer almost all of my credits leaving me with only 9 more classes. They also have a zero debt initiative that doesn’t rely on student loans.

After doing my orientation last night and seeing the format they use, I’m fairly certain I will also be getting a better education as well. It’s more interactive and their system looks really easy to use.

I’m also a little nervous. I love learning, but I also get nervous about the amount of time it takes each week. I work full-time. I have a family and home to take care of. I have nieces and nephews, other family, and friends that want to get together from time to time. I know I’ve done it before so I’m not as nervous as I was the first time, but there’s still a little bit of anxiety.

That being said, here’s cheers to a new (but also repeated) chapter!

Leave a Reply

