9 Years

Time flies by. In the blink of an eye I went from a 19 year old who’d never been kissed to a nearly 28 year old who found the love of her life and the piece she was missing. I scorned his advances, then later realized they were what made me fall in love. “Can I just get a toe in the door?” That’s what he asked me one time. We met sometime toward the end of December and then he got up the courage to ask for my number on January 19th. He text me that very night. It took me well into April to realize maybe I did want to spend time with this persistent (on the brink of annoying) co-worker.

I am thankful every day for his persistence because without it, I wouldn’t be who I am today and I am confident I wouldn’t be as happy as I am. I think I broke his heart multiple times between January and April. No matter how many times I told him that I didn’t want a relationship, he still called. I did love talking to him. It was the highlight of my night. But I also didn’t want a relationship with him or anyone else by the time he started calling me.

I had recently had my heart broken by my high school crush. I gave my number to a guy only to receive a call from the wife he had failed to mention. I gave my number to another guy who was at least sweet when he told me he was getting back together with his ex, but didn’t tell me he was even trying to when he asked for my number. I gave my number to another guy who, when we found out each other’s ages, decided not to call again. This all happened within the first 3-4 weeks of starting a new job away from the small town I grew up in.

Giving my number out was new for me. I was in a different area and had decided I was old enough to start “playing the field”. Since my high school crush had broken my heart, I wanted to expand my horizons. It was also a completely new experience for me – guys actually wanted me. I had never felt so good about my looks as I did within the first few months working there. I had also grown more sceptical about what guys wanted and what they were hiding.

Like I mentioned, I had never even been kissed and was now NOT interested in a relationship. So when I received a huge, beautiful bouquet of flowers (with the sweetest promise on the note) at work and out of the blue one day, I felt I needed to put an end to it. “Thank you, but never get me flowers again.” I could hear it in his voice that he was heartbroken… And maybe a little pissed. He told me he never would and that he just thought I’d like them. He didn’t mean anything by it.

9 years (only only 1 other small bouquet) later I walk up to the reception desk of my current job and am flooded with memories as I look at soft pink, yellow, and white Gerbera Daises. I open the note and find the same promise he made all those years ago. He really never did give up on me. He really never did let me down. He has been the highlight of every day for a very long time. Nothing in the last 9 years has made me as happy as talking to my best friend and soulmate.

2 thoughts on “9 Years

Leave a Reply

