Air Earth Sky

There is light all around me
The air is warm and pleasant
The earth beneath my feet is soft and cool
A smile touches my lips
I can’t help but feel this joy
This peace is more than I can understand
He looks at me and the world melts away
He is air
He is earth
He is sky
He is mine
My heart is full
My head is clear
Life is all it should be

A shadow stirs
The darkness looms above me
It siphons my light
The air turns cold and bitter
The earth beneath my feet is hard and sharp
Worry furrows my brow
I can’t help but feel this despair
This torment is more than I can bear
He looks at me and the world fills with thieves
He is air
He is earth
He is sky
Is he mine?
My heart is heavy
My head swirls
Life is not at all what it should be

The sky is blue
The grass is soft and green
The trees whisper amongst themselves
The flowers dance in the breeze
There he stands
A light even amongst the beauty
I am so lucky
He is air
He is earth
He is sky
I can’t believe he’s mine
Love is all I see

The sky darkens to black
The grass shrivels and dies
The trees rage in mockery
The flowers wail in the rush of wind
There he stands
A light among the terror
I can’t possibly be this lucky
He is air
He is earth
He is sky
Do I believe he’s mine?
Fear is all I see

The sun’s rays dance against my skin…

Leave a Reply

