A Wonderful Day

Yesterday was the best day I’ve had in a very long time. I’ve spent most of the past year stressed, worried, and worn out. Between an increased work load at my job, taking a few college courses, studying for a certification exam, just barely having enough to pay our bills and rarely getting to see my husband because our schedules haven’t been lining up, I’ve been just plain unhappy lately.
It really began Wednesday. I crossed off several major things on my list and was able to cut my workload down significantly. Because of my efforts and hard work of late I was allowed to leave early. I came home and allowed myself to relax by playing Far Cry 4. My husband has been telling me it’s like Skyrim, but with guns, so I thought I’d give it a shot. It is a really fun game.
He got home shortly thereafter from shopping for his ingredients to make sweet potato pie for our family dinners. When I offered to help him, he refused and told me I need to chill (his way of encouraging me to relax and have some me time). So I played the game until dinner time and then since he was baking I just went and grabbed some burgers and fries. When I came back we sat and watched The Walking Dead together, after which I went back to playing Far Cry and he went back to baking.
Once he had finished two of his pies we both were tired and went to bed at the same time. This is significant because it never happens, ever. So all in all Wednesday was a good day.

Thursday was even better. I woke up earlier than I needed to, but I had my 8 hours of sleep so I got up and played… you guessed it…Far Cry.
To my surprise, my husband was up within an hour or so of that. So he sat with me and we talked while I played. It was such a relaxing morning.
We got to my parents a little early so my husband could finish his pies (guess I should have mentioned our oven isn’t the greatest so he decided to finish them there since they have 2 and only needed to use 1). We live about 50 minutes from my parent’s so when he said he had forgotten the pie crusts in the freezer at home, I had to run to the store to get more. Thankfully I was there and back within less than 30 minutes.
When I got back he asked me to go pick up my stepdaughter. Although I didn’t show it to him, this raised a bit of panic in me. I instantly got a headache and my stomach was in knots. That drive was the most and only stressful 30 minutes of my day. His ex-wife is… I’ll just say…not the easiest person to deal with, but he was busy baking and I was anxious to see my stepdaughter. As soon as she was in the car and we were driving back my anxiety disappeared because, let’s face it, when you have a stepdaughter like mine, there’s no way you can’t be happy around her. We talked the whole way back and she lit up my day.
We enjoyed dinner and even a few games with my family before heading out to see my husband’s family. These aren’t the typical in-laws. Most people dread seeing their in-laws, not me. I love them! They are just the sweetest, most loving family I’ve ever met. If I had tried, I couldn’t have found a better family to marry into. I have a bit of a cold and one of his aunts noticed, so she stocked me up with tea to help – as an example.
After dropping our daughter (I’m just going to call her that from now on) off, we talked the whole way home.
We decided to do a little black Thursday shopping because one of the topics on the ride home was that I don’t spend money on stuff I want, like new Tupperware. Ours is old and pitted and stained and definitely needs an update, but I kept telling myself we can survive without new Tupperware.
So we bought 3 new 26-piece sets for under $20 all together. While we were shopping for that we played a little game of how many people will my husband see that he knows. His goal was 20 and to my surprise he reached it. I saw 3 people from work which I thought was an accomplishment since I don’t work with anyone that lives around here. We were able to get the entire Alien collection on blu-ray (including Prometheus in 3D) for under $50. We finished out our shopping by getting our friend the 3 most recent seasons of Supernatural (which she loves and already has the first 6) for a ridiculously good price (as get Christmas gift).
We then went home, ate dinner and started watching Back to the Future 2 (which I’ve never seen), but midway through I was sleepy and went to bed.

I know this is a super long post and most people probably won’t even read all of it, but I had to get it down. I am so filled with joy and contentment. I wish every day could be as wonderful as yesterday, but it can’t, so I am relishing in the moment. Days like that make all the other shitty days worth it.

Leave a Reply

