22. Most People Have Done It, I Have Not

I give up… I have been trying to come up with something and I can’t seem to think of anything. I know there are things other people have done that I have not, but to say most people have done something, that’s a different story. I’ve never gotten a tattoo. I’ve never been pregnant. But have the majority of people done those two things?
I’ve got it! It just came to me. Most people have kissed more than 1 person, I have not. I’m not talking about on the cheek or the little kisses you give a family member or friend. When I say that I’ve never kissed more than 1 person, I am talking about romantic kisses. I’ve only had one boyfriend in my life, the man who is now my husband. He is also the only person I have ever kissed.
I made the decision when I was very young that I didn’t want to go through the heartache of break ups and this caused me to be very cautious in my selection of who I allowed close to me. No one was persistent enough to win me over except him. This meant, and this may sound a little conceited, no one was worthy of feeling my lips. Kissing, and every other type of touching that comes with it, was a very intimate thing for me.
I knew that I am a very sentimental person and the person who won my first kiss would be in my heart forever, someone I couldn’t let go. This knowledge made me hold onto my first kiss like it was a treasure no one could take without holding the key to my heart.
It was worth the wait. I was relaxing on his couch and he was playing different music, giving me a lesson on good music is what he said. A soothing ballad came on and he asked me to sit with him. As I lay with my back against his chest and my head resting on his shoulder, he slowly ran his fingers along the curve of my neck. Gently he turned my face to his and I let myself get lost in the moment. I felt I could trust him, I knew this wasn’t a fling. I knew he wanted more than to use me. My first kiss was magical and I don’t regret my choice to let him be my one and only.

Leave a Reply

