Lonely Traveler

I am the lonely traveler
Wandering here and there
Not knowing a destination
Not claiming a home
A beach may seem bright and happy to you
But it is far too breezy for me
A forest may seem private and secure enough for you
But the risk of beasts is too much for me
An open plain, you may suggest, is quiet and clean
This brings too much exposure to me
A city is the place to blend and be unnoticed
But here it is much too noisy and far too crowded.
A desert, desolate and deserted, would be best, you say
But here there are snakes and other fatal snares
On a moutain than, high and far from civilization
But this will not do, an avalanche will devour me in my sleep
So where do I find my home?
Where do I belong?
I do not have a home
I do not belong
I will continue to wander from here to there
Always searching…never finding
I am the lonely traveler
Down a dark, twisted, ever winding road is my journey
No destination to be had
No home to be found
No refuge from this feeling of lost identity
I am the lonely traveler, my back the only sight you’ll see.image

Leave a Reply

